Producers that want to spray for weed control and some insect control in the spring it is time to start preparing. Obtaining a Private Pesticide Applicator License usually will take 6 weeks to 2 months to receive your license. Now is a great time to start the process. A Private Pesticide Applicator Training Class has been scheduled for Wednesday, November 14 at 8:30 a.m. at the Wise County Extension office located at 206 S. State St., in Decatur. The $60.00 registration fee includes the study books. This class is for those individuals who do not currently have a pesticide applicator license, but would like to get one.
Individuals who have a license that has been expired less than 1 year are not eligible to take this class.
As defined by law, a private applicator is a person who uses or supervises the use of a restricted use or state-limited-use pesticide or a regulated herbicide for the purpose of producing an agricultural commodity. The licensed private applicator is responsible for assuring that persons working under his or her direct supervision are knowledgeable of the label requirements governing the use of the pesticides they are using.
Licensing as a private applicator requires practical knowledge of pest problems and control practices associated with agricultural operations.
Licensed private applicators are required to re-certify every five years by obtaining 15 continuing education units (CEU’s) by December 31 of the year preceding license expiration. That includes two (2) credits in laws and regulations and two (2) credits in integrated pest management or drift minimization. Check out the Texas Department of Agriculture’s website for more information. www.agr.state.tx.us/pesticide.
Space is limited for this class, please call the Extension Office or come by to sign up for the class. You can contact the Wise County – Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service at 206 S. State St. or call 940-627-3341.